Integration of Power conversion, Electric machine, and Control International Power Electronics Conference 2022 Integration of Power conversion, Electric machine, and Control
International Power Electronics Conference 2022

Isao Takahashi Award

The 2022 International Power Electronics Conference (IPEC-Himeji 2022), ECCE-Asia, is pleased to announce you that The Isao Takahashi Power Electronics Award will be awarded to individuals who have made outstanding achievements in power electronics. It is dedicated to the memory of Prof. Isao Takahashi of Nagaoka University of Technology in Niigata, Japan.

Maximum of three individuals those are judged to be outstanding in any areas covered by this conference will be awarded. Each recipient receives a suitably inscribed plaque and a cash award of JPY100,000 (about $900). Each recipient has to meet both the following two items:

  1. He/She should be a researcher or an engineer who was born on January 1, 1982 or after that day.
  2. He/She should make a presentation of his/her paper at the IPEC-Himeji 2022.

Each candidate who meets the above two items is solicited to submit the following three materials in the form of PDF files to Prof. Toshihisa Shimizu ( by March 15, 2022.

  1. His/her curriculum vitae written in a sheet of A4 or letter-size paper.
  2. His/her two or three representative papers that have already been published in peer-reviewed journal/transactions, or presented at international conferences.
  3. His/her final manuscript that will be presented at the IPEC-Himeji 2022.

All the materials should be written in English. In the selection, emphasis may be put on outstanding achievement on the evidence of his/her creative and/or novel papers rather than excellent papers. The reason is that Prof. Isao Takahashi has published many creative and/or novel papers, including the monumental paper concerning the direct torque control (DTC) of induction motors in 1986.

The Selection Committee for the Award consists of the Chair, Prof. Toshihisa Shimizu plus eight internationally distinguished researchers appointed by the IPEC 2022 Steering Committee.

Recipients at the past IPEC Conferences are listed below,

IPEC-Niigata 2005:

Mr. Uwe Drofenik
(Swiss Federal Institute of Technology)
Mr. Hideaki Fujita
(Tokyo Institute of Technology)
Mr. Christian Klumpner
(University of Nottingham)

IPEC-Sapporo 2010:

Mr. Jurgen Biela
(Swiss Federal Institute of Technology)
Mr. Hiroshi Fujimoto
(The University of Tokyo)
Mr. Junichi Itoh
(Nagaoka University of Technology)

IPEC-Hiroshima 2014:

Mr. Drazen Dujic
(Ecole Polytechnique Federale de Lausanne)
Mr. Makoto Hagiwara
(Tokyo Institute of Technology)
Mr. Akshay Kumar Rathore
(National University of Singapore)

IPEC-Niigata 2018:

Mr. Masatoshi Uno
(Ibaraki University)
Mr. Xibo Yuan
(The University of Bristol)